Indigenous ServicesStudent Experience

Master's of Physical Therapy

The School of Physical Therapy is dedicated to enhancing functional mobility for the attainment of health and wellness of First Nation, Inuit, and Metis People in Canada. To encourage more FNMI individuals to consider a career in physical therapy, we have created a pathway to increase enrollment into the Master of Physical Therapy (MPT) Program.

Applicants who self-identify as Indigenous* persons may be considered for designated seats if they have the following: 

  1.  GPA of 3.4 over their last 10 full time credits (or 20 half credits)
  2.  A grade of at least 70% in each of the required pre-requisite courses
  3. An above average ranking on the CASPer situational judgement test,
  4. Are ranked highly by reviewers (who are evaluating the content of reference letters, the applicant statement, paid and unpaid physical therapy related and community experience, and accomplishments).

 To ensure that the designated seats within the MPT program are available to Indigenous Applicants, Western Requires the following: 

1) Consent from Applicants to be considered under the Indigenous Applicant admission policy and to the collection of personal information by filling out our online consent form

2) Proof of Aboriginal* ancestry.  Aboriginal documentation can be submitted through a scanned copy (front and back) of an applicant’s Aboriginal “Indian Status”, Métis citizenship or membership cards or Inuit Trust. Documentation can be directly uploaded on our online consent form or sent to Indigenous Services by fax or mail:

Indigenous Services
Western University
1151 Richmond Street
Western Student Services Building, Room 2100
London, ON, N6A 4K7
Fax: (519) 850-2578 (confidential)

3) The consent form and Aboriginal documentation must be recieved by Indigenous Services by March 13th 2019

For any concerns or questions regarding proof of Ancestry please contact:
Zeeta Lazore Cayuga 
Indigenous Liaison Admissions Coordinator 
519 661 2111 ext. 88567 |

For more information visit about the Master of Physical Therapy Program :
Physical Therapy Programs at Western
Master's of Physical Therapy Program

*Indigenous to Canada/Aboriginal as defined based on the Canadian Constitution Act 1982 as First Nations, Metis, and Inuit people.

All personal documentation is kept in strictest confidence and securely housed within Indigenous Services. The personal information is collected under the authority of the University of Western Ontario Act, 1982.  The information is collected for the purposes of offering accessible admission pathways for Aboriginal applicants and providing additional support to applicants who become students.  For further information about this collection, please contact Indigenous Services, Western University, London, ON, N6A 3K7; Phone 519-661-4095.